1 min read
07 Jan


  • Saturday 7th January 2023 First Leg
  • West Nile Province vs Lango Province
  • Venue: Greenlight Stadium, Arua.
  • Kick off Time: 4pm
  • Live on FUFA TV and 102.1 FUFA fm

The third edition of the FUFA Drum will witness West Nile Province and Lango Province face-off in a highly anticipated two legged finale. The first leg will be played this Saturday, 7th January at the Greenlight Stadium in Arua City.

Both teams have played six games prior to the final, in an edition that started at the round of 16.2018 finalists West Nile Province will host Lango Province this Saturday in the first leg final at the Greenlight Stadium, Arua in a highly anticipated encounter.

It will be the second meeting between both sides with the first coming in the second edition in 2019 in the quarter final with West Nile winning 3-1 at the Akiibua stadium thanks to Fred Amaku, Rashid Agau and Tabu Vitalis goals before Fahad Badiro got the consolation for Lango.

Prior to the final, both sides have played six matches which started at the round of 16 with West Nile winning five and drawing once, scoring a total of 14 goals and conceding one.
On the other hand, Lango have registered three wins, two draws and one loss, netting seven times and conceding three times.

The tie will also see the two current leading scorers both on four goals face off that is Westnile Province Ibrahim Dada and Lango’s Allan Okello.

Both sides will miss out on the services of key players who are with Uganda Cranes in Tunisia for CHAN preparations that is inspirational custodian and skipper Nafian Alionzi for Westnile Province and so is Rogers Mato and Moses Aliro for Lango.


West Nile goalkeeper and skipper Nafian Alionzi has kept five clean sheets out of six in this edition's FUFA Drum Tournament with his side scoring 14 goals so far.

It’s the second time Westnile Province will be appearing in the final following their first in the first edition in 2018 which they lost to Buganda over two legs while for Lango Province it will be their first time here.

The aggregate winner over the two legs will be crowned champions. Buganda Province and Acholi Province won the first and second edition in 2018 and 2019 respectively before COVID-19 hit the World.

BY: ABAS HAMZA - Dailywestnile.info 
* The email will not be published on the website.